Advertise on ITWeb         Sun, 23 Jan, 11:24:54 AM

IT Personality, Visionary CIO finalists named

The search for the IT Personality and Visionary CIO awards is nearing the final stage. Following the top 10 shortlist announcement and public voting, the judges have selected the top five finalists in each category.

Now in its 36th year, the IT Personality of the Year Award is presented by The Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA, formerly CSSA), in association with ITWeb, the Gordon Institute of Business Science, and Gartner Africa.

Past winners include IT industry notables Alan Knott-Craig, Andile Ngcaba, Aleta Ling, Mark Shuttleworth, Ivan Epstein, Mardia van der Walt Korsten, Asher Bohbot and Rob Stokes. Last year, Mteto Nyati, then Microsoft SA MD, and Barry Dwolatzky, director of the Joburg Centre for Software Engineering, shared the title.

Running for the seventh year, the Visionary CIO Award recognises a CIO who has shown visionary leadership, and used IT to make their businesses more innovative and strategic. Past winners include Rabelani Dagada, Carl Louw, Patrick Monyeki, Sandi Macfie and Sello Mmakau. In 2013, Sal Laher, CIO of Eskom, won this prestigious accolade.

Through public voting and an adjudication panel, finalists for both categories have been selected from dozens of nominations received from the IT community, ITWeb readers and the public. The panel scrutinises each candidate, and selects the top five in each category, all of whom have made notable contributions to the South African ICT sector. The next stage in the selection process involves a face-to-face interview with each finalist by the judging panel.

The winners of both awards will be announced at the IITPSA President's Awards breakfast event on 6 November at the Montecasino Ballroom.

Top 5: Visionary CIO
Here's the 2104 Visionary CIO shortlist, in alphabetical order:
Danny Naidoo
View profile

Darryl Thwaits
Group CIO
Tiger Brands
View profile

Robert Boccia
Lion of Africa
View profile

Sandra Hutchison
Aon South Africa
View profile

Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga
Financial Services Board
View profile
Top 5: IT Personality
The IT Personality 2014 finalists,
in alphabetical order, are:
Ahmed Ismael
Siyafunda Community Technology Centre
View profile

Alison Gillwald
Executive director
Research ICT Africa
View profile

Bevan Ducasse
View profile

JJ Milner
Founder and MD
Global Micro Solutions
View profile

Gian Visser
View profile
Event Sponsor

Gold Sponsor
Registration Sponsor


Judging Panel
IITPSA President's Awards breakfast
Event sponsor

Telkom Business is part of Telkom SA SOC Limited, one of Africa’s largest telecommunications companies, providing integrated communication solutions to business customers across various sectors. With its combined offering of fixed voice, data, cloud and mobile capabilities, it is well positioned to be the converged ICT market leader. For more information, please visit
Awards announcement

The 2014 winners of both awards will be announced at the IITPSA President's Awards breakfast event on 6 November 2014 at the Montecasino Ballroom.

Click here to view the IITPSA President's Awards 2013 gallery.
IT Personality

Barry Dwolatzky & Mteto Nyati

Rob Stokes

Asher Bohbot

Mark Levy

Ivan Epstein
Visionary CIO

Sal Laher

Sello Mmakau

Sandi Macfie

Patrick Monyeki

Carl Louw

Rabelani Dagada
Professor Helena Barnard
Gordon Institute of Business Science
Neville Willemse
Head of Consulting, Gartner Africa
Ranka Jovanovic
Editorial director, ITWeb
Adrian Schofield
Vice president of IITPSA
Tony Parry
Executive Director & CEO, IITPSA
Rabelani Dagada
Immediate past president of IITPSA
Wellington Matope
President of IITPSA
Barry Dwolatzky
Director of the Joburg Centre for Software Engineering (JCSE)
Mteto Nyati
GM for MEA Emerging Regions, Microsoft; co-winner of IT Personality 2013 Award
Sal Laher
CIO and Divisional Executive, Eskom SOC Limited