Advertise on ITWeb         Sun, 28 Feb, 14:35:39 PM

2015 IT Personality, Visionary CIO top 5 finalists named

The search for the IT Personality and Visionary CIO awards is nearing the final stage. Following the top 10 shortlist announcement and public voting, the judges have selected the top five finalists in each category.

The prestigious awards are presented by The Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA), in association with ITWeb, the Gordon Institute of Business Science and Gartner Africa.

Top 5: Visionary CIO
The 2015 Visionary CIO finalists, in alphabetical order are:

View profile
James Devine
Chief information and innovation officer,
Project Isizwe

View profile
Louise van der Bank
of AfriSam

View profile
Lungi Sangqu
Executive director:

View profile
Peter du Plooy
at Engen Petroleum

View profile
Thabo Ndlela
Group CIO,
Tiger Brands
Top 5: IT Personality
The 2015 IT Personality finalists, in alphabetical order are:

View profile
Alan Knott-Craig
Project Isizwe

View profile
Barbara Mallinson
Founder and CEO
of Obami

View profile
Derek Wilcocks
Dimension Data Middle East & Africa

View profile
Lex van Wyk
CEO and founder,

View profile
Niel Schoeman
Founder and CEO
of Vumatel

Now in its 37th year, the IT Personality of the Year Award recognises a person who has made an outstanding impact on the SA ICT industry over the past year and a significant contribution to the IT profession.

Past winners include IT industry notables Mteto Nyati, Prof Barry Dwolatzky, Alan Knott-Craig Snr, Andile Ngcaba, Aleta Ling, Mark Shuttleworth, Ivan Epstein, Mardia van der Walt Korsten, Asher Bohbot and Rob Stokes. Last year's winner was Gian Visser, CEO of Afrihost.

Running for the seventh year, the Visionary CIO Award, recognises an executive who has demonstrated visionary leadership in using technology to support and drive their companies to be more innovative and strategic. Past winners include last year's winner Tshifhiwa-Ramuthaga, CIO of the Financial Services Board, as well as Sal Laher, Rabelani Dagada, Carl Louw, Patrick Monyeki, Sandi Macfie, and Sello Mmakau.

Through public voting and an adjudication panel, finalists for both categories have been selected from dozens of nominations received from the IT community, ITWeb readers and the public. The next stage in the selection process involves a face-to-face interview with each finalist by the judging panel.

The winners of both awards will be announced at the IITPSA President's Awards breakfast event
on 12 November at the Hilton Hotel in Sandton.



Event sponsor


Telkom Business is part of Telkom SA SOC Limited, one of Africa's largest telecommunications companies, providing integrated communication solutions to business customers across various sectors. With its combined offering of fixed voice, data, cloud and mobile capabilities, it is well positioned to be the converged ICT market leader. For more information, please visit

Awards announcement

The 2015 winners of both awards will be announced at the IITPSA President's Awards breakfast event on 12 November 2015 at the Hilton Hotel in Sandton.

Click here to book your seat today!


2014 Winners
Click here to view the IITPSA President's Awards 2014 gallery

Previous Winners

IT Personality 2015

Gian Visser Gian Visser (2014)
Barry Dwolatzky Mteto Nyati
Barry Dwolatzky & Mteto Nyati (2013)
Rob StokesRob Stokes (2012) Asher BohbotAsher Bohbot (2011)
Rob StokesMark Levy (2010) Rob StokesIvan Epstein (2009)

Visionary CIO

Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga (2014)
Sal Laher Sal Laher (2013) Sello Mmakau Sello Mmakau (2012)
Sandi Macfie Sandi Macfie (2011) Patrick Monyeki Patrick Monyeki (2010)
Carl Louw Carl Louw (2009) Rabelani Dagada Rabelani Dagada (2008)