Advertise on ITWeb         Sun, 29 Mar, 00:13:50 AM

2013 IT Personality, Visionary CIO winners
Dwolatzky, Nyati, Laher scoop top accolades

By Admire Moyo, ITWeb's portals deputy editor.
Johannesburg, 7 Nov 2013

Mteto Nyati, Microsoft SA MD, and Barry Dwolatzky, director of the Joburg Centre for Software Engineering, are the co-winners of 2013 IT Personality of the Year award, while Sal Laher, CIO of Eskom, was named the 2013 Visionary CIO of the Year winner.

The winners were announced during the Institute of IT Professionals SA (IITPSA) President's Awards ceremony at Montecasino this morning.

Other finalists for the IT Personality of the Year award included Pieter de Villiers, founder and CEO of Clickatell; Stafford Masie, founder of Thumbzup; and Wesley Lynch, CEO and founder of Realmdigital.

For the Visionary CIO of the Year award, Laher shrugged off competition from Antony Hlungwane, head of group IT at Hollard Insurance; Fred Swanepoel, Nedbank Group CIO; Alec Joannou, CIO of Sasol; and Quinton Caryer, CIO of FNB Wealth.

In their citation for the IT Personality co-winners, the judges noted the common link between Dwolatzky and Ntati – both have a passion for nurturing young talent and emerging entrepreneurs, and have made that a core principle guiding their careers.
"This is the first time that I've come to a casino and actually won something," joked Dwolatzky on accepting the award. "The key thing I'd want to state is that working for Wits University has been the best in my life. They have always allowed me to experiment and I've always got fantastic support from colleagues."

Nyati said there were many people who have helped him get this recognition. "Our mission at Microsoft is to enable individuals and businesses to realise their full potential; and if you are a leader in such an organisation, there is no room to sit on the fence but to take a stand to improve society."

A CIO's vision

2013 Visionary CIO Laher has been the driving force behind a 14-month turnaround in the public utility's IT division - taking it from total breakdown to Eskom's top-performing division. His vision for Eskom IT has been clear – it had to become a strategic partner and technology enabler for the organisation.

In their citation, the judges noted beyond Eskom, "Laher understands the role a well-run state-owned enterprise can play in the country's transformation. He wants to grow local skills, drive e-government and use technology solutions to fight fraud and corruption."

IT Personality of the Year – presented by the IITPSA in association with ITWeb, GIBS and Gartner Africa

Barry Dwolatzky, director of the Joburg Centre for Software Engineering and Mteto Nyati, Microsoft SA MD.

Visionary CIO of the Year – presented by the IITPSA in association with ITWeb, GIBS and Gartner

Sal Laher, CIO of Eskom.

Sal Laher, CIO of Eskom.

In the news:

Eskom's Sal Laher scoops Visionary CIO Award
Sal Laher, CIO of Eskom, has been the driving force behind a 14-month turnaround in the public utility's IT division.
Nyati, Dwolatzky - 2013 IT personalities of the year
Mteto Nyati and Barry Dwolatzky are the co-winners of the IT Personality of the Year Award.

"I am extremely humbled and very much appreciate this award," said Laher on accepting the accolade. "This is a great award if I look at all the other candidates."

He also expressed gratitude to the management team at Eskom, saying the company was set to grow from strength to strength.

Other winners of the morning included World Wide Worx MD Arthur Goldstuck, who received the Distinguished Service in ICT award presented by EngineerIT and the IITPSA, and Ooba, which was named IT Leading Employer for 2013 by TalentAlign and the IITPSA.

Looking back

The IT Personality of the Year award is now in its 35th year. Past winners include Alan Knott-Craig, Andile Ngcaba, Mark Shuttleworth, Asher Bohbot and, last year's winner Rob Stokes, founder and CEO of Quirk. The award is presented by the IITPSA in association with ITWeb, GIBS and Gartner Africa.

The Visionary CIO Award, now in its sixth year, recognises an executive who heads up ICT strategy in an organisation and has demonstrated visionary leadership in using technology to support and grow business.

Past winners of the award include Rabelani Dagada, head of ICT at Royal Bafokeng Administration; Carl Louw, head of the Internet Channel at Absa Bank; Patrick Monyeki, CIO of De Beers; Sandi Macfie, CIO of Tsogo Sun; and in 2012 Sello Mmakau, CIO of Home Affairs.



Charity beneficiary
View video: Visionary CIO and IT...
View video:The IITPSA President's Awards 2013
View picture gallery
ITWeb team

Event Sponsor

Platinum Sponsor

Industry support
Thank you to the companies that demonstrated their leadership in supporting the ICT industry, by purchasing a table at this prestigious event.

In the news
Celebrating IT industry's top achievers
Johannesburg, 17 Oct 2013
The winners of the IITPSA (formerly CSSA) Annual President's Awards will be named in Johannesburg at the beginning of November.
IITPSA President’s Awards focus on innovation
Johannesburg, 10 Oct 2013
The importance of entrepreneurship and leadership, innovative thinking and positive change in the local technology sector will be explored by a panel of industry leaders at this year's IITPSA President's Awards.
Five finalists each for IT Personality, Visionary CIO
Johannesburg, 4 Oct 2013
The 2013 IT Personality and Visionary CIO awards have reached the final stage, with the top five finalists named in each category.

The Institute, formerly Computer Society South Africa (CSSA), actively engages with Commerce, Industry and Government in order to influence policy formulation on behalf of both its own members and other stakeholders. The Institute also encourages the growth of professionalism, and the responsible and professional use of Information and Communications Technology throughout the South African economy. See more at: